You are here

Evolutionary Psychology

eISSN: 14747049 | ISSN: 14747049 | Current volume: 22 | Current issue: 1 Frequency: Quarterly

Journal Highlights

  • Impact Factor: 1.5
  • Indexed In: Clarivate Analytics: Social Science Citation Index, Medline, SCOPUS, EBSCO, and DOAJ
  • Published since 2003
  • Publication is subject to payment of an article processing charge (APC)
  • Submit here

Evolutionary Psychology (EVP) is an open access, peer-reviewed journal which focuses on original, empirical research addressing human psychology guided by an evolutionary perspective. Please see the Aims and Scope tab for further information.

This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

Submission information

Submit your manuscript at Please see the Submission Guidelines tab for more information on how to submit your article to the journal.

Open access article processing charge (APC) information

Publication in the journal is subject to payment of an article processing charge (APC). The APC serves to support the journal and ensures that articles are freely accessible online in perpetuity under a Creative Commons license.

The APC for this journal is currently 1000 USD.

The article processing charge (APC) is payable when a manuscript is accepted after peer review, before it is published. The APC is subject to taxes where applicable. Please see further details here.


Please direct any queries to

Useful Links

Evolutionary Psychology publishes both (a) original, empirical research articles and (b) theoretical and review articles addressing human psychology guided by an evolutionary perspective. The journal aspires to attract as readers faculty, students, and researchers from across the social, behavioral, and life sciences who have an interest in applying evolutionary perspectives to psychology and behavior.

The Journal welcomes relevant submissions from all the social, behavioral, and life sciences, with a premium on submissions that do not exceed 10,000 words, all-inclusive.

Topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Sexual behavior
  • Violence
  • Religion
  • Cooperation

This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

Manuscript Submission

Todd K. Shackelford Oakland University
Bernhard Fink University of Göttingen, Germany
Mhairi Gibson University of Bristol, UK
Rose McDermott Brown University, USA
David A. Puts Pennsylvania State University, USA
Associate Editors
Menelaos Apostolou University of Nicosia, Cyprus
Kevin M. Beaver Florida State University, USA
April L. Bleske-Rechek University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire
Laurence Fiddick Lakehead University, Canada
Carey Fitzgerald University of South Carolina, USA
Gordon G. Gallup, Jr. University at Albany, USA
Sarah Johns University of Kent, UK
Kevin Kniffin Cornell University, USA
Debra Lieberman University of Miami, USA
Boguslaw Pawlowski University of Wroclaw, Poland
George B. Richardson University of Cincinnati, USA
Joshua M. Tybur Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands
Lisa Welling Oakland University, USA
Andreas Wilke Clarkson University, USA
Editorial Board Members
Toe Aung, PhD Immaculata University, USA
David P. Barash University of Washington, USA
Simon Baron-Cohen University of Cambridge, UK
H. Clark Barrett University of California, Los Angeles, USA
Louise Barrett University of Lethbridge, Canada
Mark Bellis Bangor University, United Kingdom
Iris Berent Northeastern University, USA
Laura L. Betzig University of Michigan, USA
David F. Bjorklund Florida Atlantic University, Boca Raton, Florida
Paul Bloom Yale University, USA
Rebecca Burch State University of New York, Oswego, USA
Gordon M. Burghardt University of Tennessee, USA
David M. Buss University of Texas at Austin, USA
Richard W. Byrne University of St Andrews, UK
Peter Carruthers University of Maryland, USA
Elizabeth Cashdan University of Utah, USA
James S. Chisholm University of Louisville, USA
Jae C. Choe Ewha Woman’s University, South Korea
Noam Chomsky Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Helena Cronin London School of Economics, UK
Frans B. M. de Waal Emory University, USA
Daniel C. Dennett Tufts University, USA
John E. Edlund Rochester Institute of Technology, USA
Harald A. Euler University of Kassel, Germany
Daniel M. T. Fessler University of California, Los Angeles, USA
Helen E. Fisher Rutgers University, USA
Maryanne L. Fisher The Kinsey Institute, Indiana University, USA
Mark Flinn University of Missouri at Columbia
Francis Fukuyama Stanford University, USA
Andrew C. Gallup SUNY Polytechnic Institute, USA
Steven W. Gangestad University of New Mexico, USA
David C. Geary University of Missouri, USA
Paul Gilbert Kingsway Hospital, Derby, UK
Aaron T. Goetz California State University, Fullerton, USA
Ursula W. Goodenough Washington University at St. Louis, USA
Karl Grammer University of Vienna, Austria
Sam Harris Project Reason
Toshikazu Hasegawa University of Tokyo, Japan
Elizabeth M. Hill University of Detroit Mercy, USA
Kim Hill Arizona State University, USA
Mariko Hiraiwa-Hasegawa University of Tokyo, Japan
Lawrence A. Hirschfeld New School for Social Research, USA
Liana S. E. Hone University at Buffalo, USA
Nicholas Humphrey London School of Economics, UK
Ben Jones University of Glasgow, UK
Douglas T. Kenrick Arizona State University, USA
Timothy Ketelaar New Mexico State University, USA
Lee A. Kirkpatrick College of William and Mary, USA
Dietrich Klusmann University Clinic Hamburg, Germany
Daniel J. Kruger University of Michigan, USA
Barry X. Kuhle University of Scranton, USA
Martin Lalumière University of Ottawa, Canada
Craig W. LaMunyon California State Polytechnic University, Pomona, USA
Chang Lei University of Macau, China
Norman Li Singapore Management University, Singapore
Anthony C. Little University of Stirling, UK
Bobbi Low University of Michigan, USA
Neil M. Malamuth University of California, Los Angeles, USA
Jon Maner Florida State University, USA
Michael E. McCullough UC San Diego, USA
Richard L. Michalski Hollins University, USA
Geoffrey Miller University of New Mexico, USA
Michael E. Mills Loyola Marymount University, USA
Steven Mithen University of Reading, UK
Carlos David Navarrete Michigan State University, USA
Daniel Nettle Newcastle University, UK
Richard E. Nisbett University of Michigan, USA
Michael Peterson Baker College Center for Graduate Studies, USA
Steven Pinker Harvard University, USA
Ian Pitchford (Founding Editor) University of Huddersfield, UK
Nicholas Pound Brunel University, UK
Jennifer Vonk Oakland University, USA
Bridget M. Waller University of Portsmouth, UK
Virgil Zeigler-Hill Oakland University, USA
  • Clarivate Analytics: Current Contents - Social & Behavioral Sciences
  • Clarivate Analytics: Social Science Citation Index
  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
  • EBSCO: Academic Search Alumni Edition
  • EBSCO: Academic Search Complete
  • EBSCO: Academic Search Elite
  • EBSCO: Academic Search Premier
  • EBSCO: MainFile
  • EBSCO: TOC Premier
  • ProQuest
  • PsycINFO
  • PubMed Central (PMC)
  • PubMed: MEDLINE

Manuscript submission guidelines can be accessed on Sage Journals.


Subscription Information


To subscribe to this journal or to purchase single/back issues, please contact Customer Service - Journals:  +91 (11) 4063 9222 extn 406

To purchase bundled content, backfiles or any other electronic products, please contact:

For exciting offers and deals, write to: