You are here

Learning to Be Confident, Determined and Caring for 5 to 7 Year Olds

Learning to Be Confident, Determined and Caring for 5 to 7 Year Olds

144 pages | SAGE Publications Ltd
The four books in the series provide a whole-school values-based program for young people from 5 to 12 years of age. They are designed to assist in the creation of wellbeing and resilience in students by introducing and developing a range of values and behaviors that will assist with social and emotional health.

The series is well differentiated and follows a similar format. The introduction is followed by guidance on how to use the materials with links to curriculum areas. There are comprehensive teacher notes on each theme. The themes are based around stories which will engage young people and these are accompanied by worksheets and follow-up activities.

Each book can be used individually or together as a complete program to promote pro-social values. All the books will help young people to:
  • Have a sense of belonging
  • Identify their talents
  • Develop proactive problem-solving
  • Enhance positive social orientation
  • Encourage an optimistic sense of fun
The themes in this book are:
  • Confidence
  • Respect
  • Courage
  • Determination
  • Caring
  • Assertiveness
Each theme has four stories with accompanying resources.
Teacher's Notes
Curriculum Links

Creating Supportive Learning Environments

Development of Language Acquisition

Development of Wellbeing and Resilience

Guidelines for Value
Resilience Links
How to Use This Book
Blackline Masters

Karen Brunskill